Recommendations for GPS units and mounting options | GTAMotorcycle.com

Recommendations for GPS units and mounting options

JoeyB

Site Supporter
What are you using and how are you mounting it? Thanks.

Garmin 295w with a ram mount, has survived MASSIVE storms (both rain and snow) with no cover at all.

Garmin Zumo 660.

It comes with a mounting kit and cradle that should fit any handlebar or brake/clutch reservoir, but I have a special aftermarket mount for my bike specifically. If you list your motorcycle make and year, you might get a list of specific mounts instead of the generic RAM Mount kits.

I've got an older Garmin 60cx that I've been using since 2011, before that it was a Garmin eTrex Vistacx that ran pretty much the same software.

I've mounted it on my Bandit GSF600s, my KLR, VFR, DR650E and most recently my Versys 650.

A 1 inch ram ball with medium length arm attached to a custom cradle that I bought off a gent on advrider as the Ram cradle for the 60cx broke when I had a get off in Quebec North of Manic Cinque.

P1130622.JPG

The older etrex Vista
P1240924.JPG

The Garmin 60cx:

Pros:
Water proof
battery operated
rugged
multiple power options
good receiver (rarely loses satellite reception even while riding in the Alps in Europe!)
maps available for download
Configurable data fields (Speed,Distance to next turn, ETA, Total distance remaining etc.)
buttons for main functions with gloved hands

Cons:
small screen
records 10,000 track points but will only accept a downloaded track of 500 points
max 60 waypoints permitted for a downloaded route

I'd buy another if the price were right, say $150 dollars or so.

What I have my eye on to replace it with is the Garmin Montanna...
waterproof, rechargeable Li battery pack, runs on 3x AA batteries, or plugged in power source.

It's about 600 dollars, and I'm not sure if I can use my downloaded maps for it.

As you can see, I tend to prefer off road rugged GPS units.
small

Garmin Zumo 660.