installing hardwood flooring myself. should i do it? lol | GTAMotorcycle.com

installing hardwood flooring myself. should i do it? lol

motoride777

hi i live in a condo. it's about 650 sq ft. i'm thinking about installing hardwood flooring DIY style. i think with youtube DIY videos, some rented tools, and patience (i can take my time doing it slowly and carefully). i should be able to complete the job nicely.

BUT... i've never done it before, so if you've done it. any advice for me? lol

thanks!

Not as difficult as you think. Take your time and set up everything properly. Get the right tools and you're set. Cutting out corners, edges, and around objects will be the most difficult.

good luck.

OR

send me a private msg and I'll install it for you with my dad as we do this type of work.

It is very easy to do, If you are getting the tongue and groove, just make sure not to force it.
I went from a fully furnished room with carpet to hardwood and all set back up in less than a day by myself.

Check with your condo corporation if it's allowed, and what the criteria is to installing it, some don't like it because of the noise transfer, so you have to install it according to the rules of the corporation.

Get someone to do it, by the time you get the tools, the time involved, it will come out cheaper to have a pro do it and can they can probably do that in about 2 days, if that.....

are you really talking about hardwood flooring, or laminate.....

Since you're in a condo, be very careful with the underlay you choose. Some condos incorporate detailed specs in their bylaws, other are less careful. If you install without underlay, you can expect to rip it out and start again when the person below you complains.

Consider laminate too. The new stuff out there is great and it's not hard to do yourself. Like others mentioned, check with management first.