The One Thing Im Having Trouble with | GTAMotorcycle.com

The One Thing Im Having Trouble with

TheRealKnex

So I just started riding and it has been going better then I expected, the only thing im having trouble with is downshifting and knowing what to do while slowing down for a stop sign..thats the only time I stall the bike..can anyone help me out with some advice?

Pull the clutch. Learn shift points and clutch control. No one can really teach you online. It takes practice.

If you stalling while coming to a stop your not pulling the clutch in time. Your rpm shouldn't drop below idle.

What I was doing was downshifting to neutral. .your saying shift to first and keep the clutch in while stoppd? Remember im brand new to bikes and never drove standard car b4

Yes exactly.
Pull clutch then push down shifter to first. keep clutch pulled in.

Stay in first. You shouldn't really shift to neutral on the street. Always be ready to take off in case of being rearended ect.

On that note. Keep enough room that if someone is coming up behind you, you can tuck your bike beside another car.

Oh and book a course. They teach you all of this. For a rider with 0 experience id highly suggest it.

Ride safe.

Downshift smoothly takes practice. Just get the steps straight in your head and go out and practice. Also, going out with experience rider helps. That way you have someone from whom you can get immediate feedback to improve.

I am assuming that you have not taken a motorcycle training program. You need to take a motorcycle training course, try one of the schools listed here: http://www.mto.gov.on.ca/english/dandv/driver/gradu/motocourse.shtml

Park your bike and don't ride it again until you have passed the course. Riding a bike isn't as simple as driving a car. You are stalling your bike in traffic, you will find yourself in a really bad situation eventually and need to know what they teach you in the school in order to stay safe.