2001 sv650s won't turn over | GTAMotorcycle.com

2001 sv650s won't turn over

mcbain27

i've had the battery on a battery tender all winter, went to start up the bike and nothing.
headlights and dash indicators seem to be working. What can be the problem?

i'm not technical, so any help would be appreciated.

or if there is a mechanic in the scarb. area (mccowan and finch) that would be great.

Thanks for the help and ride safe.

Had a Sv 650 guy said the same thing and battery showed 12.4 volts yet as soon as u put load on it, it dropped rapidly, your battery is probably ****** go get it load tested, then check other things maybe you got a mouse house.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Do you have the clutch pulled in? Check the clutch switch if you are pulling the clutch in one of the wires may be off.

pretty sure that the battery may be it. will bring it down to cycleworld/snow city to get it done.

does autoparts do load test?

Last edited:
does autoparts do load test?
They never set the machine correctly. For ***** and giggles I took a brand new freshly charged battery to them and "Nope, this battery is garbage. Did you wash it before you brought it in?"... I asked for the print out "Failed 400cca load test" lol :)

Do you not have a volt meter/multimeter? Invest in one of those before you take your bike to a shop. Put it on DC volts (20 if not auto ranging) and measure the battery while you're hitting the starter button, report back number. http://www.princessauto.com/pal/Electrical/Digital-Multimeter/8347676.p

thanks for the info, will drop by CT or PA for a multimeter tomorrow to check the battery out.

will report back.

They never set the machine correctly. For ***** and giggles I took a brand new freshly charged battery to them and "Nope, this battery is garbage. Did you wash it before you brought it in?"... I asked for the print out "Failed 400cca load test" lol :)