Insurance for 30+ year old bikes | GTAMotorcycle.com

Insurance for 30+ year old bikes

Dresden

Hi peeps,

I've been calling around and getting shut down for insurance on a 1980 Honda. TD Meloche Monnex won't touch it for example.

Can someone please recommend a company/individual?

Allstate will do it, but for $700 (liability only) + $250 for not having anything else with them i.e. stand alone policy. I feel $950 is just too much to pay for a 500cc, 34 year old touring bike.

Please help.

My understanding of Ontario insurance is that it is mostly based on CC with a few other factors thrown in.

Bottom line is that it's a 500cc engine with lots of horsepower and $700 which is $58 a month sounds to me not intolerable. Not including the $250 because this would apply to anything.

Your primary argument also sounds to me as if you are saying that the bike is old so it should be cheaper. It's still 50-100 hp.

Good luck with what you decide to do.

Did you call riders plus for their vintage insurance?

Do you have a car? You can easily pair up your bike with a car and pay cheap cheap insurance.

I pay 458/year for my '74 550 but my car is paired up. Intact is a good place to call as well. TD MM dont like touching bikes over 15 years old.

Dont forget that u live in onterible.

Did you call riders plus for their vintage insurance?

Do you have a car? You can easily pair up your bike with a car and pay cheap cheap insurance.

I pay 458/year for my '74 550 but my car is paired up. Intact is a good place to call as well. TD MM dont like touching bikes over 15 years old.

Dont forget that u live in onterible.

Yes, I am well aware of the higher insurance rates - previously coming from a Super Sports bike...

No sense in me switching my car over.. SF for example wanted $200/month more just for my car to save $50/month on the bike..

I have left a message for rider's plus. Any others?