advice for a potential newbie... | GTAMotorcycle.com

advice for a potential newbie...

M

Marinoni

hi guys....would really appreciate some advice from the dual sport veterans.
heres my situation....ive been riding roadbike for about 25 yrs and really would like to get into off road/dirt road riding...im in toronto and would like to ride in areas like the ganny and northumberland etc. thing is i dont have the space and finances for a vehicle that can tow and a trailer...so i was thinking of getting a street legal drz400s or xr650l and using it to ride around town and go out on weekends to the trails..
i was just wondering , how feasible is this ? is riding out to dirt trails from the city for 1 or 2 hours,doing the trails and riding home being realistic ?
is there a suitable tire choice for riding on pavement AND dirt or are tires too biased for either on or off road ??
is there anything else i should consider ?
or should i just hold off until i can get set up to trailer a bike to the riding areas ??

thanks very much for reading !!

DRZ400 and XR650L are heavy for trail riding and since you're riding around town during the week you'll be severely compromised on tires. Anything is possible but I could see riding out to the Ganny getting old real quick. Nevermind breakdown or injury in the woods. Get a trailer, light bike and riding buddy.
Gravel roads on those bikes are great. I ride my DR650 all around north of Belfountain to Collingwood mostly without hitting pavement. You can really get off the beaten path doing that.