Markham street parking free or not? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Markham street parking free or not?

Mig21

I've been parking on the street in the GTA for many years, but yesterday parked on the street in Markham and got a ticket (fail to properly display a parking control machine receipt, 40$).

WTF?

I called the city and someone called me back and said she's absolutely sure that in Markham a motorcycle is considered the same as any other motor vehicle and I must pay for parking. She didn't have an answer about where I should have put the parking stub so it wouldn't get stolen. She said I must go and talk to the parking attendant to discuss the issue further.

I'll go but wanted to ask first, has anyone experienced this before? Does that mean in effect that you aren't allowed to park a motorcycle on the street at all in Markham?

Where did you park and what was the time?

Markham is it's own City. You gotta pay the ticket.

City of Toronto is where you get Free Motorcycle Parking on the Street (Pay and Display).

Oh, are you sure? That really sucks. I guess I'll have to try and talk to my concillor about that (I actually live in Markham, right on the border). Anyone know how to do that most effectively?

How about anywhere else around Toronto and elsewhere in Ontario/Canada? Are you typically allowed to park for free on streets with this kind of payment system? I would have thought all of the GTA at least would have the same rules.

so where are you supposed to put the stub without it being stolen? do they have a clear tape dispenser or something? heck that would still just get ripped off.

so where are you supposed to put the stub without it being stolen? do they have a clear tape dispenser or something? heck that would still just get ripped off.

I dont' suspect that's an area with a high rate of mischief.... :/