Dash cam for motorcycle?



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 27

Thread: Dash cam for motorcycle?

  1. #1
    skip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Swansea
    Posts
    628

    Dash cam for motorcycle?

    For the first time in 18 years of riding I actually I actually felt the need for a dash cam on the bike this week. Just too much stupid **** happening on my daily commute. The guy passing on the shoulder of the 427 yesterday doing 140+ was just the final straw.

    So, any recommendations? I do not want a helmet mounted cam but something that can go on the bike with reasonable audio/video.

  2. #2
    jeffjones's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Cambridge
    Posts
    3,109

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Last edited by jeffjones; 08-21-2013 at 02:34 PM.
    2001 CBR F4i


    " they say at 100mph water feels like concrete ,so you can imagine what concrete feels like " - Nicky Hayden
    Free TAFB

  3. #3
    Roomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    in a van down by a river
    Posts
    4,178

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    don't buy a contour
    I dislike everyone equally

  4. #4
    nfq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scarborough
    Posts
    3,380

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Rob MacLennan has a nice setup (Front and Rear) on his bike. Give him a PM.
    "There's never enough time to do it right, but there's always enough time to do it twice."

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Etobicoke, ON
    Posts
    2,158

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeffjones View Post
    Case closed pretty much. GoPro.

  6. #6
    skip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Swansea
    Posts
    628

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    yes and I think the Hero 3 now does allow looping video and I could hard wire a USB charger. But is there anything else out there? Currently using DailyRoads Voyager on my phone in the car but I don't want to expose my phone to the elements.

  7. #7
    Roomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    in a van down by a river
    Posts
    4,178

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Drift HD camera? I don't have any experience with them but I've seen some good video clips from one
    I dislike everyone equally

  8. #8
    DaveTheCanuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Halton
    Posts
    478

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    GoPros etc. don't have to be mounted on your helmet. You can mount it anywhere you want on your bike.

    My Drift Ghost has a specific "Car DVR" mode, where it loop records.
    Quote Originally Posted by cknowles View Post
    I have a 5 minute ride to work but I can make it home in an hour on a good day

  9. #9

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Is there a cam that turns on automatically when ignition is on, and shuts off with ign.. and overwrites old like a loop. so i can just place it on the "dash" and only have to worry about it if something I want to save appears...???

  10. #10

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Quote Originally Posted by meester_jamie View Post
    Is there a cam that turns on automatically when ignition is on, and shuts off with ign.. and overwrites old like a loop. so i can just place it on the "dash" and only have to worry about it if something I want to save appears...???
    I'm curious about this too with regards to the DRIFT or GoPro; if they do I might consider buying them and getting some electrical work done.

  11. #11
    DaveTheCanuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Halton
    Posts
    478

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Yes, that's part of the Car DVR mode on the Drift Ghost.

    http://driftinnovation.com/new-firmw...rift-hd-ghost/

    It powers on and starts recording in increments of 1, 3, 10 or 15 minutes and loops when the card is full.

    Edit: I just tested it on mine, and it also powers off on its own when power is cut once it finishes the current recording.
    Last edited by DaveTheCanuck; 08-21-2013 at 03:23 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by cknowles View Post
    I have a 5 minute ride to work but I can make it home in an hour on a good day

  12. #12

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Quote Originally Posted by DaveTheCanuck View Post
    Yes, that's part of the Car DVR mode on the Drift Ghost.

    http://driftinnovation.com/new-firmw...rift-hd-ghost/

    It powers on and starts recording in increments of 1, 3, 10 or 15 minutes and loops when the card is full.

    Edit: I just tested it on mine, and it also powers off on its own when power is cut once it finishes the current recording.
    Sigh, full suit, track lessons, ps4, new gear, new dash cam, school tuition.

    I'm gonna be broke lol thanks for the info tho! =D

    btw, I think we met at Total Control.

  13. #13
    ZX600's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Under a ******* minivan
    Posts
    5,999

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Quote Originally Posted by skip View Post
    For the first time in 18 years of riding I actually I actually felt the need for a dash cam on the bike this week. Just too much stupid **** happening on my daily commute. The guy passing on the shoulder of the 427 yesterday doing 140+ was just the final straw.

    So, any recommendations? I do not want a helmet mounted cam but something that can go on the bike with reasonable audio/video.
    Did he pass you on the left shoulder or the right shoulder?
    - S.O.A.R. #986 - http://pscracing.webs.com/

    2006 GSXR 1000 Race Bike
    2010 GSXR 750 Street Bike


  14. #14
    skip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Swansea
    Posts
    628

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Left shoulder and passed at least 2 cars in front of me the same way. Not a cop and traffic was not exactly moving slow either....

    Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk 2
    95 RS125 (track), 05 DL650 (street)

  15. #15
    ZX600's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Under a ******* minivan
    Posts
    5,999

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Quote Originally Posted by skip View Post
    Left shoulder and passed at least 2 cars in front of me the same way. Not a cop and traffic was not exactly moving slow either....

    Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk 2
    I figure, not justifying the driver but what were you doing on the fast lane?
    Last edited by ZX600; 08-21-2013 at 03:59 PM.
    - S.O.A.R. #986 - http://pscracing.webs.com/

    2006 GSXR 1000 Race Bike
    2010 GSXR 750 Street Bike


  16. #16
    skip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Swansea
    Posts
    628

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Quote Originally Posted by ZX600 View Post
    I figure, not justifying the driver but what were you doing on the fast lane?
    Passing a truck that was moving slower then me

    Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk 2
    95 RS125 (track), 05 DL650 (street)

  17. #17
    Roomie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    in a van down by a river
    Posts
    4,178

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Darwin candidate. Unless you're an emergency vehicle there's no excuse in normally flowing traffic for passing on the left shoulder. Hopefully he'll get his and we'll have one less ******* on the highways.
    I dislike everyone equally

  18. #18
    eljay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Oshawa
    Posts
    1,088

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Drift Ghost HD does everything and picture looks good, just has a crappy built in microphone. The loop recording is pretty sweet, has a remote. Just hit the button and it will keep the last segment on the card. I like it for going on rides and loop for 10 minutes, then only hit save when something interesting (like a stretch of twisties or a moron driver) just happened.

  19. #19
    DaveTheCanuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Halton
    Posts
    478

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    Quote Originally Posted by eljay View Post
    Drift Ghost HD does everything and picture looks good, just has a crappy built in microphone. The loop recording is pretty sweet, has a remote. Just hit the button and it will keep the last segment on the card. I like it for going on rides and loop for 10 minutes, then only hit save when something interesting (like a stretch of twisties or a moron driver) just happened.
    That's on video tagging mode. As I mentioned above, there is also a Car DVR mode that loop records as the mem card fills up. Video tagging mode doesn't work well for dashcam applications since you wouldn't be able to press the button in the event you're involved in a serious collision.

    Quote Originally Posted by 油井緋色 View Post
    Sigh, full suit, track lessons, ps4, new gear, new dash cam, school tuition.

    I'm gonna be broke lol thanks for the info tho! =D

    btw, I think we met at Total Control.
    GSXR, right? Hey!
    Quote Originally Posted by cknowles View Post
    I have a 5 minute ride to work but I can make it home in an hour on a good day

  20. #20
    spray____'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    High Park, Toronto
    Posts
    598

    Re: Dash cam for motorcycle?

    I bought one of these a few months ago for the car, pretty happy with it.

    http://dashcamtalk.com/dvr-207/
    - $70 on ebay
    - turns on and off with ignition
    - loops when the card's full
    - its about the size of a wallet

    Not sure how you'd mount it on a bike, it only came with a glass suction mount. Also it's not waterproof since it's meant for inside the car. I've been thinking about possibilities of getting another one and putting it on my bike.
    06' GS500F - Sold
    06' YZF-R6

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •