Insurance for a new rider ( I KNOW YOU SEE THESE ALOT ) | GTAMotorcycle.com

Insurance for a new rider ( I KNOW YOU SEE THESE ALOT )

Fly

Hi Everyone, im new to the world of motorcycles and I'm looking to get my first bike in a couple of weeks, Im 19, have my G1 and M1, i've spent pretty much all day calling every broker in the durham area, not 1 of them gave me a quote, either because i wasn't 25, or didnt have enough experience ( which is understandable). I only got 1 quote the whole day and that was with Primmum, and it was $625 a month for 6 months, the agent on the phone told me that i would be covered for all 12 months, but wouldnt have to pay from October to February. The bike im looking to get is a ninja 300, Im doing my Riders course in april, but the agent told me it wouldnt drop it by much ( LIKE 10-15 dollars ), Can you guys assist a new rider with some tips and/or great places to call (NOT STATEFARM).

Thanks

Well you've got the "Big 5"

Jevco/Intact - Any bike besides SuperSport, big $ drop after 1 year with an M1/M2 licence
State Farm - Any bike including SS, but they rate by engine size in CCs. Use G1/G2/G experience (minimum 5 years licensed), not M. BIG drop after age 25.
TD MM - Best if you're a current Post-Secondary student or Alumni, insure all bikes (as I recall) and big drop at 25 and 30.
Primmum - Not familiar with them tbh
Facility (usually Nordic I think) - If you've got nowhere else to turn to, expect one BIG lump sum payment for the year.

There's also Desjardins and a couple other companies that are venturing into Motorcycle Insurance that I don't know anything about.

Without a history of driving and insurance, expect quotes in the neighbourhood of 4000-6000 per year, don't even look at a SuperSport until you're 25. Jevco USED to have a big drop after 1 year of M1/M2 experience but they've been bought out by Intact and things are changing.

Last edited:
someone pass this man the lube...no joke. You gotta pay to play.