CBR125 Dual sport. | GTAMotorcycle.com

CBR125 Dual sport.

Ride_Safe

Hey all. I've been riding for 4 years since my 16th birthday on my CBR125 and last autumn I decided to take off some of the lower plastics and throw some dual-sport tires on it, just to see how it worked out. I'm from Newmarket, Ontario, but I go riding up to Bradford and take some of the trails sometimes. I thought I'd show you some pics of what I've done.

- Tires:
Front - Shinko 244
2.50-17 (90/80-17)
Rear - Shinko 244
3.00-17 (100/80-17)
(all tubes the same size)

The small problem I do find while going off-road is with the way that the handle bars are oriented, it starts to hurt your thumbs and wrists after a while, if you don't wear good gloves.

By the way, the bike now has 48,000 kilometres on it, and still runs like the day she was made! :] Except maybe a little smoother.

I went out once in December on the first day it snowed, so I didn't have to worry about salt. It was also 1 in the morning when I went out with about a foot of snow on the ground, so I didn't have to worry about very many cars on the road.

They work excellent on the road, because they're already so rounded. They are rated up to 120km/h and I've taken them to 130 without a problem. No wobbles or uneasiness.

I bought the tires from a dirt bike shop in BC called Gnarly Parts and Accessories, and got them shipped to me in Ontario. I'm incredibly surprised at how long they have lasted, but I'm assuming because the 125 is so light and has such little actual power that the tires don't experience very much stress and wear. I've put almost 8k on them and there's virtually no sign of wear at all.

Last edited: