Dyno's..... A tuning tool or a misleading print out??? | GTAMotorcycle.com

Dyno's..... A tuning tool or a misleading print out???

NEVER2OLD

Couldn't help but notice how many times hp numbers have come up in this drag racing forum...Some of us find a dyno as nothing more than a tuning tool used to find the perfect A/F ratio...I myself found the dyno alittle humbling this past weekend if I was to strictly look at the peak rwhp and torque ....But it showed a very clean, smooth power curve...So having said that,there are many variables that will deem rwhp a fraction of what makes up a successful engine/bike package....LOL...even if mine put out 240 plus....I'm not experienced enough to utilize it anyways...:(

So what numbers did you put down?

Would that be CORRECTED your looking for or UNCORRECTED????? Another area involving hp #'s a HUGE majority of readers don't fully understand!

I don't think most people look at HP numbers as some kind of absolute thing. At least any knowledgeable person. Unless you're bench-racing..

I didn't even know dynos measured hp. Thought they just measured torque and the hp was calculated.

great tool to tune for gas mileage

great tool to use for BEFORE AND AFTER mods

great tool to troubleshoot problems

now,when comparing modded engines etc,to toher dynos,not so great in my mind

what scale being used? STD? SAE? corrected? uncorrected?

so many variables using different dynos.. even the make,superflow,vs dynojet etc will read different..

I didn't even know dynos measured hp. Thought they just measured torque and the hp was calculated.

Don't think anyone claimed they measured HP..although it's obviously just semantics..