In case you were wondering about those big scoots..... | GTAMotorcycle.com

In case you were wondering about those big scoots.....

MacDoc

Site Supporter
Could not have said it better......a new Burgman 650 rider and a well thought out process to get there
and yes Virginia......it's the transmission ;)

I'm 38 years old and I have been riding motorcycles for 15 years with broken time - longer if I count mini bike and dirt bike experience as a kid on various platforms. In addition to that experience, I rode a Honda PA-50 moped in my early teen years (12-16).

As for my 15 years of licensed motorcycling, I have owned a Yamaha RD-250, Kawasaki KLR 250,Kawasaki KLR 650 and a Honda XR650L. I have ridden many different bikes, V-Max, Sportster, Shadow, Street Glide, CM-450, CBR 600, DR-650, and probably a few others I can't remember. I have been through rider courses and have also coached.

Most of my “real” experience is dirt and dual-sport. My passion is adventure motorcycling. I enjoy public dirt and gravel roads the most because I love to explore. I have what I like to call: “what’s down that road?-itis.” I love this style of riding so much; I am riding the Trans-America Trail in 2012 on my XR650L.

For years, I have searched for the holy grail of dual-sport - a bike that can truly go anywhere. As hard as I have tried, the thing dual sport bikes have failed at (for me) were 300+ mile days on pavement.
Slogging "slab miles" to get to all the good riding is TORTUOUS to me. Yup, after 300mi, I've had it with all the buzzing, buffeting, and the 2X4 seat. This is a personal factor, of course. Many heartier souls have completed Saddle Sore 1000 and even tougher rides on far "worse" platforms. It's just not my idea of fun.