What should I be aware of for my first track day.. | GTAMotorcycle.com

What should I be aware of for my first track day..

B

Bruce Ree

Im going to be doing my first track day in June at Shannonville. I'm a little nervous only cause I dont want to dump my baby and hurt her. Also just a little nervous as this is my first time and dont want to feel like a total amature there. How often to you guys dump their bikes when on track days?

as often as ppl do stupid things. it's a trackday - take it at your own pace, you're not racing anyone.

make sure you have water wetter in your rad, that you disconnect the lights and tape them up and take the mirrors off. your chain should be in good shape, should have clean, new oil in the bike (you're going to be revving the daylights out of that engine) and that your tires are in decent shape and at proper pressure. don't worry, there'll be plenty of people to give you a hand with things once there.

remember: if FUN you're after, not GLORY

Just go and have fun.

Don't worry about dumping your bike.

You're likely going to be in the Street/Novice group, so I highly doubt you'll be the slowest person there. There's always someone a little slower or one that shows nervousness. Those people get the help they need and are as welcome as anyone else.

I've yet to go to a track day where there have been NO crashes. I've only been to a small handful... the most in a day was 9 or 10.... the fewest I think was 1 or 2. Someone will bin it, for whatever reason.

Just ride at whatever pace keeps a smile on your face and have fun. That's all they're for.

First,

Make sure you have at least 1 friend with you.

If this is your first trackday, i'd recommend removing ALL of your bodywork from your bike. buy some cheap race stuff that has been crashed if you can.

Street bodywork is expensive.