Ontario Insurance Increase - Toronto Star

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ontario Insurance Increase - Toronto Star

Ontario Insurance Increase - Toronto Star

Re: Ontario Insurance Increase - Toronto Star

Quote Originally Posted by James Daw, Toronto Star
    Rick McCombie, a senior vice-president at Co-operators in Guelph, said the COSECO division needed larger increases because more of its clients are in the Greater Toronto Area, where losses have been higher.
    You crash and claim, we all pay.

DmeGA

I had two accidents with my car and I tried to settle it cash and it worked the first time but the next time it was a girl and she was willing to settle through cash but she wanted $3000 for the car and $1000 for her I was like forget it I had to claim it. I had it checked out and it would of cost $1400 to have it fixed. That's when I was young and dumb never drive after surgery.

ajdomi, thanks for posting the interesting article
    I'm an Actuarial Analyst for a Major Canadian Insurance Company. I analyse claims patterns to determine overall rate changes, as well as relative premium differences by various risk characteristics (eg. age, experience, claims, convictions, usage, etc.)

Unless it's private, please post insurance-related questions in the forum rather than sending me a PM.

Current: 2001 Suzuki GSXR1000 (4th Season)
    Previous: 1996 Honda VFR750F (4 Seasons)
    Previous: 1998 Kawasaki Ninja EX250 (3 Seasons)

Freedom of speech is wonderful - right up there with the freedom not to listen.

My mom made a claim on my minivan 2 years ago (fender bender ~$1k damage) and now my brokerage is not carrying my original provider. They are trying to change insurance companies for me and my rates are tripling (yes, 250%-300% increase).

WTF, I paid extra for the insurance on my insurance and not having my rates go up after a claim and they've some how found a way to raise the rates anyways.
    Current - '08 T-rex (soon to be T-rex-T)