Total Noob Question RE: Tires

Thread: Total Noob Question RE: Tires

Matt M.

Total Noob Question RE: Tires

Sup y'all...I'm assuming this is the proper board this should go in as it doesn't really fit the criteria for the others...so meh...

I recently bought my first bike (2001 Suzuki SV650...a bit big for a beginner bike no doubt BUT I'm 6'4" so in honesty, its the smallest thing I can fit on comfortably) and in reading my way through the manual (thanks to this site for linking to that, btw) it claims that the "standard tire fitted on this model is a 120/60 ZR17 (55W) for the front and a 160/60 ZR17(69W) for the rear." However, after checking my tires, I came to the startling conclusion that my front tire is not the standard tire...my front tire is a 120/70 ZR17 (58W).

Now...the manual claims that using anything other than the standard tires may result in "instability" so the main question I have to ask is...how much "instability" am I looking at with this 'not-standard' tire? Is it so much that I should really considering dropping another X amount of coin on a new tire despite having just dropped $3300 on insurance/gear or is the 'instability' minimal and fairly easily overcome? Or is not replacing them stacking the deck further against myself as I'm already learning on a more powerful bike than the ideal bike people would learn on?

The lesser questions I should like to have answered regarding tires are pretty typical, I imagine, for first time vehicle owners: what do the various numbers (120/60, ZR17, 58W, etc) mean? And what is the 'optimum' tire pressure for my 'not-standard' tire or is it the same as what's listed in the manual and the tire itself has little bearing on the 'optimum' tire pressure?

Re: Total Noob Question RE: Tires

youre fine with it.

tire pressure is listed right on the sidewall, lots of rims can take multiple size tire, my 636 has a different front than stock, bigger front will make your turn in slow but you probably wont notice it.