12 month insurance?

Thread: 12 month insurance?

12 month insurance?

So my insurance company told me today that my bike has to be covered all year long ( liability included ).
    I think that this is absolute b.s. since I wont even look at the bike during the winter and I'm allowed to cancel my coverage on my sports car.
    Is this even legal for them to force me to pay for 12 months when I only want 6?
    Does anyone know of any way around this? I'm new to the scene and would appreciate any help or tips.
    Thanks,

Jay!

Re: 12 month insurance?

you can cancel your liability coverage over the winter

of course the insurance companies have that covered -- they charge you the bulk of your annual coverage over the summer months so even if you cancel you're not saving much (at least SF does)

yes it's total bs
    Faster, faster, faster, until the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death...

yes its total BS but we the consumer have no choice as the insurance companies own us.

It's not BS . . . you just don't understand the insurance product. The price you pay is essentially for six months of coverage, but the insurer will cover you for the entire year anyhow. The alternative is to charge you double the premium and let you cancel in the winter, but that would just be annoying for everyone.

I have discussed this in detail in the stickied thread, so you can read my more detailed explanation there:

http://www.gtamotorcycle.com/vbforum...ad.php?t=65033
    I'm an Actuarial Analyst for a Major Canadian Insurance Company. I analyse claims patterns to determine overall rate changes, as well as relative premium differences by various risk characteristics (eg. age, experience, claims, convictions, usage, etc.)

Unless it's private, please post insurance-related questions in the forum rather than sending me a PM.

Current: 2001 Suzuki GSXR1000 (4th Season)
    Previous: 1996 Honda VFR750F (4 Seasons)
    Previous: 1998 Kawasaki Ninja EX250 (3 Seasons)