Safety Wire.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Safety Wire.

Safety Wire.

Do you have Jigs? or drill presses?

Any tips? good sites? im just learning the techniques, but i find it new and challenging at this point, as i've never safety wired before. But i have to say the safety wire pliers are neat.

Im just experimenting with spare bolts i have, and practicing before I do my bike.

Also if you have pictures of your own bikes, or neat stuff you've done with safety wire could you post those pictures.

I've seen one bike with plastic tubing used between the wire, how does that work? and how do you safety wire the swingarms E pin?

Re: Safety Wire.

Anyone know who/where stocks the wire twisters and wire?And a good one twister? I like spending a little extra on a good tool....Dont really want to order one, prefer to just go to a shop on payday and buy one for that instant satisfaction

Last spool of 028" wire came from Sturgess.Tyler should be able to help you.I picked up a spool of 025" at the Paris CVMG rally last summer for $10. I should be good for a while now. I use the PA cheapo pliers.After a bit of twisting and grinding,they work perfectly.
    "If ya want me,I'll be in the bar"
    Ric Waterloo

1800 Goldwing
    2009 1100S Hypermotard (for sale)
    944 Ducati track the "Blueberry Muffin"

Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyP636 View Post
    Anyone know who/where stocks the wire twisters and wire?And a good one twister? I like spending a little extra on a good tool....Dont really want to order one, prefer to just go to a shop on payday and buy one for that instant satisfaction
    princess auto has a decent tool for 9.99 now. its spring loaded. its a simple tool.

wire around mississauga/brampton? I am looking as well.

how do you safety wire your R clip (clip that holds the swing arm nut) to your swing arm?

i've been trying, but its all messey.

Quote Originally Posted by frekeyguy View Post