Power commander

Thread: Power commander

Power commander

Just got a new bike and it came with a power commander and a full akro exhaust system. Just wondering what exactly does this power commander do and how do you tune it? is it supposed to be dyno tuned? total newb at this never had a power commander in any of my other bikes before so not sure what am i supposed to do with it? and is there a way to check it is currently running a diffrent map on the commander?
    Our doubts are traitors, and make us lose the good we oft might win by fearing to attempt. - William Shakespare

Re: Power commander

Quote Originally Posted by kawi101 View Post
    Just got a new bike and it came with a power commander and a full akro exhaust system. Just wondering what exactly does this power commander do and how do you tune it? is it supposed to be dyno tuned? total newb at this never had a power commander in any of my other bikes before so not sure what am i supposed to do with it? and is there a way to check it is currently running a diffrent map on the commander?
    download the software from their site and plug it into your computer
    there is a manual on their site aswell to teach you how to use it.

The PC allows you to change the fuel maps & ignition (on some models) in the ECU wich is the computer in your bike.. when you add new pipes,filters ect, to your bike you need to change the mapping in order to gane the best performance out of the mods & to not do any damage to the motor.. I do not recomend that you play around with your PC unless you know what you are doing, as you can cause damage to the engine.. Take the bike to a shop that can tune your bike on the dyno..
    Last edited by Mach12R; 11-07-2008 at 01:19 PM.
    2003 ZX12R---2008 ZX 14---

Don't mess with it if it's working fine!
    If it does need tweaking, take it to Zaid !