cam chain tensioner

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: cam chain tensioner

cam chain tensioner

how long does it take to change the cam chain tensioner on a 2001 f4i, im a mechanic with all the tools, just wondering if i could do it before the end of the day?

Re: cam chain tensioner

Its a 1/2 hour job, you should be able to change 10 of them before the end of the day...

You can swap out the cam chain tensioner in roughly 2-3hrs (or less), depending on what tools you use and whether you're installing an OEM or aftermarket (adjustable) CCT. It's a simple job, just a pain in the ars due to the confined space, however, you being a mechanic should be more than used to this.

I would recommend though that you purchase a new OEM gasket and clean the boss sealing surface prior to installation.

COFFEEMAN690

I too am gonna do this over the winter also adjust the Valves I'm at 50,000km Question about the tensioner should I get the dealer one or a non Hydrulic tensioner manual tensioner??? ebay has some any dealers u know might carry this type???

Cheers

make model year, please ...

Some engines that have notoriously poor automatic tensioners (several generations of Honda CBR600's for example) have aftermarket manual tensioners readily available, and you can order them from ANY bike shop. In those cases, it's worth changing out, because if you install a new OEM tensioner, it's just going to fail again.

In other cases, you will have no choice, if a manual tensioner is not available. In many of those cases, there is no manual tensioner available because there is no reason to change out the original one. (Don't fix what isn't broken.)

Quote Originally Posted by COFFEEMAN690 View Post
    I too am gonna do this over the winter also adjust the Valves I'm at 50,000km Question about the tensioner should I get the dealer one or a non Hydrulic tensioner manual tensioner??? ebay has some any dealers u know might carry this type???

Cheers