Thorough cleaning during oil change?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Thorough cleaning during oil change?

Thorough cleaning during oil change?

Hey all.

Was just curious if there is a product out there that I can run through after draining the oil to help remove any remaining/old gunk that has built up over the years? Reason I ask is the past 2 oil changes I've done, upon starting her up the oil hasn't filtered through right away. Almost like there is a blockage of some sort, so I'd like to avoid that this time around since the dry knocking noise can't be healthy for the bike each time I change the oil.

I've been using Motul 7100 Full Syn for about 2 years now, so it shouldn't be a matter of not waiting long enough for the oil to filter through.
    **edit** I also change the oil filter everytime and pre-fill the filter to be sure oil circulates properly.

Any suggestions?

Cheers.
    Last edited by ZiN; 08-21-2008 at 01:26 PM.

Re: Thorough cleaning during oil change?

sea-foam in the crankcase before draining the oil, run engine up to temp, then change oil and filter.

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieRev View Post
    sea-foam in the crankcase before draining the oil, run engine up to temp, then change oil and filter.
    +1 .. beat me to it. Run 1/3 of the bottle thru the crankcase .. and than drain the oil.
    The rest of the bottle id put in small increments into your gas tank.

Alright cool, thanks guys. I was not aware sea foam could be used for this purpose as well.

So just to be clear, to run it through the crankcase you'd pore the sea foam into the same opening as the oil correct?

same hole correct.

Out of curosity why r u doing that?

Cause if your answer is that hte oil is black and smelly there is another problem.