Some questions about when your bike is stolen.

Thread: Some questions about when your bike is stolen.

Some questions about when your bike is stolen.

Bike is missing, I need some advice for what happens next.
    Oh, and I put some underlines not because I think you're stupid, but because this is long and I wanna help make things clearer for you in hopes you'll help me... please

I got home from work around 12:40 AM, parked one bike next to the other on the street. When I woke up, only one bike was there.

I had apparently been written a ticket at 12:53 AM on the remaining bike. The one that's missing was parked closer to a fire hydrant but I believe still beyond the 3 meter limit.

I called the police about it and called my insurance company. I was not covered for fire or theft on the vehicle (a very noob-ish mistake I made 8 months ago - it was my first bike, I wasn't getting financing, and as a student I was naively cutting corners, my mistake).

The cop seemed more interested in why the stolen bike (a scooter), had green plates, and how fast it could go. These questions all seemed pretty redundant. He didn't even ask me for the VIN number. Is this normal? I would assume this would be one of the first things they would ask for.

Also, the cop I talked to called me from Unknown Number. I didn't have a pen to write down anything, so he said he would call me once again and leave me a voicemail with my record # as well as his badge #, but he never did. Is this normal?

I called up a towing place, and they said the cops would check with them whenever a vehicle was reported missing, but this cop I gave my report to over the phone really didn't seem professional at all. What can I do to find out for certain if my bike is/is not towed to some lot somewhere?

By the way, my current plan:
    - Ask around all of the nearby houses
    - Alert the nearby riders (Dufferin & Bloor area)