question for the law experts in regards to cameras

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: question for the law experts in regards to cameras

question for the law experts in regards to cameras

Since this bill 203 bit is getting people nervous about getting screwed for impound fees etc without being proven guilty, dirty cops etc. Say you have an onboard camera that shows you did not exceed 50, or pull a wheelie and the cop pulls you over and says that you did but notices the camera. Could he demand to see the footage on the spot? What would likely happen?
    Thanks

Banned

Re: question for the law experts in regards to cameras

he would require a warrant no?

I'm no lawyer or law expert but I don't see why the cop would have a right to view or confiscate the camera during a traffic stop. There might be a law against viewing the LCD screen while moving (like the on-board DVD players in cars).

I have the same question for the same reason. I'm no lawyer either, but I don't think it would require a warrant for the police officer to seize either the camera or the tape / memory card. (If they pulled you over, they already have "probable cause", or something like that.) What if I want to record the traffic stop? Can't play back and record at the same time.

One interesting possibility is if they do seize the bike and your license and the camera, and the footage shows you did nothing wrong. The way the legislation is written, the only way the vehicle can be released before the 7 day period is up is if the vehicle was stolen. There's NO provision in there for the police to say "Oops ... you're right. Here's your vehicle back. Have a nice day. So sorry about what it cost you."

In MY opinion ... that situation would make for an interesting lawsuit. And I WOULD file that lawsuit. Have camera ... have resources.

Quote Originally Posted by Brian P View Post