new rider in ajax

Thread: new rider in ajax

new rider in ajax

Hi all, im new to the bike scene ( a 49cc moped doesnt count ). I'm looking to buy a 600~cc bike, something to commute with and got a deal pending on a sv650s. Problem is I dont have my license yet and I even if I did its too bloody cold to drive one. Does anyone know a cheap and secure way to transport a 400lb bike 50-60kms? I've got several quotes from tow companies but they are frigging sharks. lmk

menglor

Re: new rider in ajax

Quote Originally Posted by dhtmldude View Post
    Hi all, im new to the bike scene ( a 49cc moped doesnt count ). I'm looking to buy a 600~cc bike, something to commute with and got a deal pending on a sv650s. Problem is I dont have my license yet and I even if I did its too bloody cold to drive one. Does anyone know a cheap and secure way to transport a 400lb bike 50-60kms? I've got several quotes from tow companies but they are frigging sharks. lmk

U-haul or Uhaul trailer (if you have a hitch)

or

Rental van

I believe U-haul only charges 20$ plus the cost of fuel? but you would need to check into that.

Welcome!

Quote Originally Posted by menglor View Post
    U-haul or Uhaul trailer (if you have a hitch)

or

Rental van

I believe U-haul only charges 20$ plus the cost of fuel? but you would need to check into that.
    i thought of that too, but its pretty heavy, i couldnt even lift the front wheel. and if i rig a ramp, it could fall off it. and once its in the van? how do i secure it? have you done this before or is it just a suggestion.

menglor

I live in ottawa and bought my bike in Kingston, I got a truck much like the Uhaul trucks, which come with a long ramp so, I could drive up it.

and they have slots in the wall for straps.

Canadian tire had something like this for like 9.99 last week

so you drive in, get close to the wall or center it. and just strap it in.

basically, from the sound of it all, the Uhaul makes the most sense.