are you kidding me?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: are you kidding me?

angelcorpse

are you kidding me?

I asked my broker to get me a few quotes the other day and they are bleeping ridiculous.
    2008 Suzuki GSX650F, 25 years old, female, got M2 2 months ago, full G for 6 yrs, took Humber course, no tickets. for full coverage Kingsway wants $12,000 and Jevco wants $14,000.
    Is it just me or is something wrong? The bike doesn't even cost that much. Do you have any ideas as to why it would be so much? My broker told me cause I'm a new driver. that doesn't make sense to me since my bf got insurance for a 2004 CBR600RR in 2004 after he got his M2 for $2000-$3000.
    I really want to get a bike at the show in January. I don't know what company would be good with my details, any suggestions?

Re: are you kidding me?

yeah there is something wrong..

I've had good experiences with john duffy insurance and jerry kaspard. check the list on the site and I'm sure you will find something more realistic.

So is that the new katana? they changed from 600 to 650?

Try Mike Francis at State Farm. Those rates are crazy. State farm may cost you a little bit also because its a 650 and your under 25 but you can give them a call anyways.

Also check the sticky on the insurance forum for a bunch of motorcycle friendly insurance agents.

Banned

those rates aer their way of telling you theyre not interested in insuring you.

Quote Originally Posted by wassp223 View Post
    So is that the new katana? they changed from 600 to 650?
    It's essentially a Bandit 650 (frame, engine, running gear) with GS500F bodywork.

12 - $14,000 for insurance is completely out of line for that bike! Insurance should be about the same as the Bandit 650. Given the name of the new bike, are you sure you weren't quoted GSXR rates?

State farm is going to be your best bet. That's what I found at least. I did a lot of calling around before I got mine also...