Is $5,500 too much for 25yr old diesel Mercedes?

Thread: Is $5,500 too much for 25yr old diesel Mercedes?

Is $5,500 too much for 25yr old diesel Mercedes?

I found a old 300 series turbo-diesel Mercedes. It's a two door, and it has gone around the world more than 12 times (it has over 500,000Km on it) The paint seems in OK shape. I'm only considering it it because it's so weird looking and think it would be fun transportation - if it lasts 3 years I'll be happy.

I have no experience with diesels - other than that they supposedly can go really long distances. What are your thoughts?

Here's what it looks like - it's not the one I'm looking at, but it's the same model

Re: Is $5,500 too much for 25yr old diesel Mercedes?

I'd take it to a Merc dealer or other reliable mechanic and have them look it over.
    Starbucks poses by me.

To much money.. Some dealers will not be able to work on it (trust me) I know someone with one that looks just like that car but yellow, I had to tow it to 3 different dealers. And the cost and wait time for parts.. (They will have to find them since none will be in stock for something that old)
    99 R1, SS Swing Arm, Mag rims, wolf undertail exaust... and more toys not going to mention.
    02 Gsxr 1000

As long as you don't drive in winter you should be fine.

Those cars have a reputation for astounding durability IF they are taken care of, but also for sucking the owner's wallet dry for fixing odd little things again and again during that time. That generation (late eighties) is arguably better built than the newer Mercedes cars - that generation was still from when Mercedes was building over-engineered tanks on wheels. BUT ...