Won't start :(

Thread: Won't start :(

Elizabeth P

Won't start :(

Hi, I have a 94 Ninja 250, and the bike no longer starts, but there is a rapid clicking noise coming from a small round component with a red 30A fuse and connector on top of it. Pics are below. Is this the starter or solenoid? Sorry..im a tech newbie. TIA

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pi...9&id=580620713

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pi...c&id=580620713

Re: Won't start :(

Sounds like you don't have enough charge in the battery to engage the starter. Have you put a charger on the battery? The rapid clicking is the starter solenoid trying to engage. Put it on a charger overnight and see if this makes a difference. If not, put a multi meter (set to DC) on the battery terminals and see what the volts read (after charging) they should read around 12V DC.
    Steve Abbott

Elizabeth P

Thanks... But to tell you the truth when I start it the last time it worked... I heard something like something popped.... and it smelled like something burned out...
    But i'll try recharging the battery tomorrow

that clicking it the starter solenoid trying to go but not having enough power to turn your stater over. charge the battery up an give it a try. if you heard a "pop" sound you may have blowen a fuse as well. check the little fuse box to see if they are all fine.
    95 RS125 (track), 05 DL650 (street), 89 FZR400 (project)

Check the battery connections and the selenoid connections. The popping and burning smell could be a loose cable arching which would also not allow enough current to pass to the starter through the selenoid causing it to click.
    If you need someone to have a look give me a shout I work cheap and know those little bikes inside out.
    lighttwins@yahoo.com

Elizabeth P

I've check the little fuse box... nothing looked like it was burned out.... My friend is going to charge the battery tonight... if that doesn't work.. I will definately contact you...

thanks