How Big of a Tire can i Go? Ninja 650

Thread: How Big of a Tire can i Go? Ninja 650

Cool How Big of a Tire can i Go? Ninja 650

Hey everyone,
    I am new to motorcycles so bear with me if this sounds like a stupid question, actually just taking my M2 this weekend.
    Anyway love the look of the Super Sport bikes with the fat Rear Tire, but since i am a novice i know they are way out of league, not to mention the insurance is horrible so i am probably going to go with a Sport Touring, something like a Ninja 650r.

My Question is,
    -how big of a tire (width) could i go with on a Ninja 650r. There site says it comes stock with 120/70-17 on the Front and 160/60-17 on the back.

-can you go much bigger with keeping the same Rim, or do those need to be replaced?

-i have heard its it little harder to steer with bigger tires, is there any truth to that?

anyway i know it really not that important for someone at the novice level, would just complete the image of the bike i would like to have.

thanks in advance.
    jason

120/70-17
    120/70-17
    120/70-17

Re: How Big of a Tire can i Go? Ninja 650

I think your priorities aren't in order, but I'll oblige to educate.

I'm going to assume you have no idea what the numbers mean so first, let's break that down. 160 is the tire width in millimetres. The next number, 70, is the percentage of the width which equals the sidewall height. So 70% of 160mm = 112mm is your sidewall height. The 17 is your rim diameter.

The problem with going to a bigger tire is that your rim width doesn't change. We'll assume it's 5". So if you put a wider tire on it, say 180 because that's what most Super Sports are at, you're adding 20mm to the width of the tire to a 5" wide rim. What's going to happen is, you're going to increase the height of your tire stance because the rim width doesn't increase in size, so that extra 20mm has to go somewhere and the only place for it to go is up.