Bad gas mileage

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bad gas mileage

Bad gas mileage

So I'm new to the bike world. I know my way around cars but not so much on bikes. I recently picked up an 03 R6. I got it with 50k.
    Ive gone through 2 gas tanks and I am only get getting 145km before the gas light goes on. Is this normal? I've heard that this bike should get 180km ?
    Any suggestions what I should look at first? Is there any maintenance I should do to the bike since it has high km? The bike came with a safety but Im sure the guy did it himself.
    Any help would be great.

Thanks

Depending on how you ride that sounds about rite to me.
    Barrie and area riders.
    http://www.gtamotorcycle.com/vbforum...d.php?t=123778

Amsoil Oil? PM me

Most motorcycle problems are caused by the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.
    Faster, faster, faster, until the thrill of speed overcomes the fear of death.

Re: Bad gas mileage

Were the sprockets changed?? Ratio changed? If so your actual Kms might be off.

If you have GPS use that as the actual read. Use the pump as the actual amout of gas put in. Do calculation then u'll know your fuel consumption
    Resident Loudmouth

Is your bike actually boosted like your name says, Or is that just to up the Timmies Rep?
    2001 CBR F4i

" they say at 100mph water feels like concrete ,so you can imagine what concrete feels like " - Nicky Hayden

Quote Originally Posted by jeffjones View Post
    Is your bike actually boosted like your name says, Or is that just to up the Timmies Rep?
    Point, brother
    Resident Loudmouth

Here's a crazy idea, actually note how many Litres of petrol you are using, my calculator doesn't do "tanks" of gas.

Somewhere using those round and curved tires.

Quote Originally Posted by BoostedR6 View Post
    So I'm new to the bike world. I know my way around cars but not so much on bikes. I recently picked up an 03 R6. I got it with 50k.