Cam I claim bike gear on my company taxes

Thread: Cam I claim bike gear on my company taxes

Cam I claim bike gear on my company taxes

Hi guys,

Just went into contracting and I was wondering if I can claim my gear as company costs? Anyone does that?

Thanks.

Re: Cam I claim bike gear on my company taxes

Good question. I'd like to know as well. I'll ask the accountant when I do my taxes.

My best guess is "no"! I am a snowboard instructor in the winter. I was told that None of my equipment can be deducted. Even the uniform rental, which I must pay in order to work and cannot be used for personal purposes, is not deductible. if there are any tax pros out there that can tell me I am wrong, please speak up quickly... I'll be doing my taxes this weekend

Quote Originally Posted by victorbrca View Post
    Hi guys,

Just went into contracting and I was wondering if I can claim my gear as company costs? Anyone does that?

Thanks.
    That's an interesting question. To what extent is your bike gear required to earn business income? Do you consider your bike personal or business property? Could your business be considered a personal services business?

If you are an independent contractor and not a personal services business (really an employee), a better way to cover the cost of your gear is through tax deductible mileage reimbursement of $0.53/km for the first 5,000km and $0.47/km for any excess business related kilometers travelled. Keep a detailed log to support your claim. If you're a personal services business or an employee, your employer should reimburse business related travel at or near the rates above. Travel from home to place of employment and vice versa are considered by CRA to be personal kilometers.