94 Kawasaki Vulcan VN750 troubles

Thread: 94 Kawasaki Vulcan VN750 troubles

94 Kawasaki Vulcan VN750 troubles

Hello riders,

So I have a 94 kawasaki Vulcan VN 750. I seem to be having battery or electrical issues. I am new to bikes, and trying to figure out what I can from the manual and online sources, but I am a bit confused.

I gave my battery a charge since I had left the key on and stalled a bunch of times learning how to get started. I went out on a tour for a few hours and stalled it a few times. At most 7 times over the course of 3 hours. It got a bit chilly so i pulled over, killed the engine and put on a sweater. I left the key on and the bike would not start anymore. She turned over a couple times but would not run. I am thinking that a few stalls and 5 minutes of sitting should not kill a battery. I was able to bump start it, then she died at again about 30 minutes down the road. I bump started again and then I lost all engine power, the engine started making a huffing sound, power came back momentarily then completely died. Would not turn over, not even the clicking sound when there is not enough power.

I tossed it on the trailer and got it home. I gave the battery 24hrs of slow trickle charge at 2amps. She starts fine, there is plenty of oil.

I tried starting the bike and disconnecting the Positive from the battery to see if the Stater or Rectfier/regulator (my dad says magneto? I have never heard of such a thing) is keeping the bike running, and the engine dies immediately. I am not sure if this even works on a bike as it does on cars.

Now I did foolishly add a small bottle of Fuel injector and carb cleaner to my full tank of gas, but of course those are designed for a full tank of gas on a car. I do not know if this would be a factor at all.

The plugs have threaded caps but I know that is not completely uncommon on bikes.