New rider - dropped bike

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New rider - dropped bike

New rider - dropped bike

So I'll keep this as brief as I can.

I'm new to riding (M1 doing the course in a couple of weeks). I practice on the quieter streets by my house. Yesterday, in low gear and zero traffic, I graveled out. The bike slide sideways and landed on my left leg. I have a hairline fracture (removable cast and crutches for 2 weeks). Yes, I know I'm lucky.

I am very respectful of the dangers. I'm 40 with 2 kids and a wife. No bravado or tough guy here. Even with all the care in the world, I fell. I suspect more experience would have helped, but you have to start somewhere.

I'm still in shock and I can't believe how fast I ended up under the bike. It really is a blur. I'm just devastated to see the damage on my 3-week old bike. I had to cover it in the garage to keep from crying.

Thankfully, I bought a good jacket (Scorpion) and a decent full-face helmet (HJC IS-16). I had read about the importance of gear and honestly thought it was over-kill. I bought the jacket because I needed "something" and the helmet because itched reasonable reviews. I had below average gloves and leather boots, but not riding boots. Thank God! The boots kept my foot/ankle from being crushed and the gloves did offer some protection. I don't recall hitting my head, but there are a couple of marks on the helmet. The jacket saved my left elbow and shoulder. I have no doubt that I would have sustained serious injury if not for the jacket.

Now, as for the bike, it's not bad, but it needs some repairs Any suggestions on where I can get OEM parts and quality installation for a Suzuki Boulevard in the Oakville area?

Thanks and thankful,

Glad to hear you are okay! I had my first lowside last week, I know how you feel.

As for parts, I'm not 100% sure. I ordered my Suzuki stuff off the web, and I'll be replacing them myself

Re: New rider - dropped bike