**LOUD** enough for ya??

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: **LOUD** enough for ya??

**LOUD** enough for ya??

I pulled into the local plaza this morning on my new CBR250R and started chatting with some supersport riders. They commended my choice of gear...leather jacket and pants... but they both suggested that I get a louder muffler. They said drivers would not hear me coming up their side, and too many don't check their blind spots properly.

I'm a noob, so I wanted to ask some experienced riders... do you believe that a louder exhaust is *necessary?* Or can I just stick to proper riding technique (ie. don't ride in blind spots, always make sure you're seen, have an escape route etc.)

Thanks for your help.
    Last edited by wormburner; 03-19-2012 at 05:19 PM.

Re: **LOUD** enough for ya??

You can do both!

Quote Originally Posted by wormburner View Post
    do you believe that a louder exhaust is *necessary?*
    No.
    o~`o
    VSRI #1930
    The most common problem with motorcycles is the nut that connects the handlebars to the saddle.

I have a 250 and i just speed when im in a blindspot and even then i have a very very loud airhorn to tell people to get the f away from me

"You tell...and I will smack you like a bad, bad donkey, okay?"- Pepe Prawn

The only way they are going to hear you is when you pass them, so it's basically useless if you are behind someone.

If you are in front of them...well, as riders it is our responsibility to keep checking back there anyways to make sure no one is following too closely or is just about to rear end you at a light (shoulder check) .

Out on the highways all the noises get mushed together anyways. One bike amongst all that traffic is not going to be heard above all the other engines rumbling...just like you would see a transport truck before you heard it, aside from a honking horn (hopefully, lol).

You will be there and gone past them before any other car has the opportunity to enjoy the rumble!