Cracks in side of tires. How unsafe?

Thread: Cracks in side of tires. How unsafe?

Cracks in side of tires. How unsafe?

Obviously i know i need to get a new tire as soon as i can, but is it safe to ride it like this in the meantime come spring until i can afford to get it replaced? The tire is a tubeless Bridgestone Spitfire S11, 100/90/18. My bike weights about 510lbs and i am around 240lbs. I'm still new to riding (since last summer) and haven't reallly gotten into doing the tire pressure vs. weight figuring out yet.

I bought the bike in September and at the time i don't remember seeing any cracks in the tire. The rear tire was new and is still fine, but the front i have no idea how old it is. I really can't say for sure when the cracks started or if they were already there but sometime around October or early November i noticed them, they go all around the sides near the rim and are a couple millimetres deep in places. The tread itself is fine and still has lots of depth. I did around three highway trips of 300k in late October on them like this before i noticed. Was i pushing my luck?

Last edited by Johnny5; 01-29-2012 at 03:53 PM.

Re: Cracks in side of tires. How unsafe?

Hi Jonny 5, Please think of why you bike. Well to keep up that enjoyement please be safe. That tire may last you for the next 12K, or let go all ot once. Do not take chnces with your saeftey or others. I think you know the answer. Safe biking, Hnadlegrip.

Whats the date stamp on the tire?
    2001 CBR F4i

" they say at 100mph water feels like concrete ,so you can imagine what concrete feels like " - Nicky Hayden

Quote Originally Posted by jeffjones View Post
    Whats the date stamp on the tire?
    Looks like a 2000 or 2006

OP weather checking or cracking like this is a gamble. Like the first poster wrote it could wear out or blow tomorrow. It's a game of chance at this point.

I have 14 yrs in the commercial tire industry. His post is as true as it gets.

Ride safe