How to start tracking?

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How to start tracking?

How to start tracking?

I've been riding for 2 years but I still consider myself a newb. I wanted to get into track days but I don't know where to start. I'm intimidated to just show up with my bike to the track days.

Is there something I can do to prepare myself. I don't really want to take my current street bike to the track my first round. Nor do I want to purchase a "new" bike in this endeavor. Are there any courses I could take where they provide the bike and knowledge that isn't going to cost an arm and a leg. My instructor at RTI mention a course named "fast" or something like that but warned me it is very expensive.

Thanks in advance!

Re: How to start tracking?

Racer 5 is pretty cheap and the rental bike is included in the course price.

I was going to post their page but it seems to be under construction at the moment.
    Last edited by rafiki911; 11-09-2011 at 08:56 PM.
    2010 Suzuki GS500F

Please help me reach my goal in raising money for a great cause.
    Here is the link to my Ride For Site page.
    Thank-you =)

http://my.e2rm.com/personalPage.aspx...onID%3d1326806

My first track day was a nightmare. I couldn't load my bike on the rented pickup, I was late, I couldn't unload my bike, I failed tech, I was slow, my technique didn't exist etc etc etc.

I would have benefited from turning up at a track day at 7am and just hanging around till about mid morning to see what goes on and how everything works. And while you're there walk around the pits and talk to people and watch people and what they do, what they have with them etc etc. Just soak that **** up. Then you'll be in a much better place to do a day. There's a couple of sticky here as well as to what to do.
    Spineless swines. Cemented minds.

Quote Originally Posted by Fiery254 View Post