Bought a 2004 cbr600rr and got PLAYED

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bought a 2004 cbr600rr and got PLAYED

Bought a 2004 cbr600rr and got PLAYED

So I found a beautiful 2004 cbr600rr on Kijiji out in Kitchener (I'm from Toronto) and I immediately jumped on the deal. The bike looked great, had a few mods, LED turn signals, fender eliminator kit, hindle exhaust, new brakes, pretty much new tires and a few other things. I got all this for $4750 which I thought was a decent for what I was getting. I went to Kitchener to check out the bike and took it for a ride and left a deposit, everything seemed ok, but I'm a real newbie when it comes to bikes (I know my basic stuff).
    I went to the mechanic today to get it safety certified and the mechanic told me it had a few major issues. First thing, the bike had been laid down (I should have seen the scratches on the right passenger peg) the exhaust was a bit mushed up (which he told me was most likely from wheeling on the bike) the chain and sprockets need to be replaced and the best one was that the front right was damaged and needs to be replaced too. There are some other minor things but those are the major ones. He told me I was looking at about $1000 worth of repairs. I don't have that kind of cash to be spending on the bike!!!!

I'm looking over my options and thinking what I should do. One option is to buy the parts I need and maybe sell the bike and suck up not having a bike for awhile (not really a good option, but considering it). Another option is to try and sell the bike as it and hope to salvage most of what I paid for it (of course I wouldn't lie like that last ******* did to me). Since I'm really new at this bike scene, maybe someone out there has been through something similar or can think of a better option to save as much money as I can and have a bike still.

Thanks

Re: Bought a 2004 cbr600rr and got PLAYED

Quote Originally Posted by TFFmarvel View Post