Parking longer than 3 hours

Thread: Parking longer than 3 hours

Parking longer than 3 hours

Apologies if this was asked before.

On Friday I parked near the Island Airport on Little Norway. The spot was legal for parking during the day and there was no sign with any restrictions.
    Yet I got a ticket for "Park longer than three hours".

1 - it appears this law exists and there doesn't need to be a sign stating it, to get a ticket.
    2 - I find it very strange to get this ticket, when I've been parking downtown regularly for 3 years, often in no-pay spots, and never ran into this before.
    3 - Under the parking revisions by the city, is there any exemption for motorcycles?

Thanks
    Olaf

Re: Parking longer than 3 hours

There certainly are a couple of parking offences that do not require a sign. One of them is parking for longer than 3 hours. This applies anywhere in the City of Toronto. Motorcycle parking is free if there is pay but legal parking available. If parking is illegal, a motorcycle has no exemption.

Quote Originally Posted by City of Toronto, Parking Regulations
    Parking offences that do not require signs
    The most common situations:
    Offence No. on ticket Description Area for by-law Set Fine
    2 Park longer than 3 hours Toronto wide $15.00
    11 Park more than 30cm from curb Toronto wide $15.00
    12 Park vehicle for sale Toronto wide $15.00
    14 Park obstruct driveway/laneway Toronto wide $40.00
    15 Park 3 metres of fire hydrant Toronto wide $100.00
    16 Park 9 metres of intersecting highway Toronto wide $40.00
    24 Park taxi cab for hire-unauthorized location Toronto wide $30.00
    Park on Boulevard North York
    Scarborough
    East York
    Toronto
    $30.00
    28 Park between 2am-6am Dec 1 to Mar 31 North York $30.00
    30 Stop on/over sidewalk/footpath Toronto wide $60.00
    31 Stop roadside (parked/stopped) vehicle Toronto wide $60.00
    48 Park left wheels to curb Toronto wide $15.00