Cbr125 as a first track bike?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cbr125 as a first track bike?

Cbr125 as a first track bike?

Hello!I am looking into buying a used cbr125 track bike as a first. I have experience riding on the road, went on brp and deals gap a few times with my F800st, and will register to track school later this year or in the spring.I am looking into getting some advice fro people who either tracked one or have experience on track. I am new to track and want to learn properly before buying something bigger 600+cc.Your input is appreciated
    [/SIGPIC]84 Honda V30 Magna 500cc - Beckie in Bike Heaven
    08 Aprilia Shiver 750 - Florence Crashed, and Sold
    08 BMW F800ST - F8th Bought

Re: Cbr125 as a first track bike?

Racer5 uses them www.racer5.ca

And there is a class for them at RACE, SOAR, and the nationals. Keep in mind that ALL brand/model specific roadracing classes are subject to disappearing at the drop of a hat when sponsorship money vanishes.

On a general track day, the issue is going to be difference in speed on straightaways if you are on track with other bikes at the same time. If the other riders on the track are competent racers and are aware of the situation and the track day organizer deals with it in an appropriate manner and it is a TIGHT racetrack (Shannonville Nelson track, Mosport RDT, Cayuga, Grand Bend), it isn't a problem. At the back straightaway at the Mosport big track, closing speeds could approach 200 km/h and I wouldn't want to be in that position.
    Last edited by Brian P; 08-15-2011 at 03:26 PM.

I'm not a fan of them for the track, honestly. The Racer 5 bikes are total pylons at TMP. Riding one up the staight has got to be about as exciting as going flat-out on a riding mower. Even for a novice rider it has got to be frustrating.