Advanced Riding Course with Turn 2

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Advanced Riding Course with Turn 2

Advanced Riding Course with Turn 2

I am planning on taking the ARC1 with turn 2. I have never been to the track before. I have been riding full time for only 2 years on my cbr600rr but have rode other sport bikes in the past for a day or two or weekend whenever I had the chance over the past 5-6 years.

So my question is whether to take my bike to the track, or rent one from Turn2? I'm really not interested in dropping my bike and not even fully sure my insurance with statefarm would cover that.

Has anyone done the ARC1 course or had experience with Turn2 that could shed some light on how the course is run? Is the course fairly tame, or will I be pushing the bike/myself to the limits?

I feel pretty comfortable on my bike during street riding, while realizing I am very far from being a pro. I just don't want to spend $300-400 renting a bike if we're not really pushing too hard, given that this is only the intro course.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Re: Advanced Riding Course with Turn 2

You don't have to be pushing hard to be crashing. I crashed at slow speed, taking the Turn 9 hairpin at Cayuga. I slid for maybe a metre or 2 on my bum. It was a really minor crash, but it twisted the forks and broke one of the windscreen ears on the front fairing. This was with Racer5 on their CBR125s, and it cost me something like $100 for the fairing, and $25 in labour for untwisting the forks. I would imagine the costs would be higher on a 600cc bike.

So I would rent the bike. Your insurance will definitely not cover your bike at the track.

Rent a bike and you'll focus on riding.
    Bring your own bike, and you'll be distracted trying not to bin your bike in a turn.
    It's the Least I Could Do