'99 Honda Rebel venting Problem

Thread: '99 Honda Rebel venting Problem

'99 Honda Rebel venting Problem

<span class="Apple-style-span">Hey All,<br><br>I thought I would post my situation to the forum to see what creative solutions I could get. I'm still a noob and don't really know where to look for the answers to my question. I'm going to describe the situation in the best detail that I can.&nbsp;<br><br>Problem:<br> My gas tank is not venting, causing the engine to bog down and&nbsp;eventually&nbsp;cut out while while riding. It is also causing pressure to build up inside of my tank, with the only way to relieve it being to open the gas cap (I believe the term for the situation is Vapor Lock, but I'm not sure. Any clarification on this would be appreciated)<br><br>Details:<br>-the bike is an american model, but not a California model (90% sure about that)<br>-The hotter it is outside the more the pressure builds up. On really hot days it can get to the point that the gas cap almost shoots off when i turn the key. In the morning after a cold night, it is the reverse. It seems that there is a&nbsp;vacuum effect and the gas cap is a little harder to pull off&nbsp;<br>-If the fuel level is low enough and I try riding without the gas cap on, the problem goes away<br>-Over the past weekend when it was really hot the pressure built up to the point that it caused a small leak out of the bottom of the tank. I have since sealed it up (a temporary solution, but it is working) Also, i leave the gas cap ajar when parking the bike during the day to prevent it from happening again<br>-The proper solution to this problem is supposed to be removing the tank and unkinking/uncloging the venting hose underneath the tank. I have taken the tank off and was unable to find any tubes like that. I spoke to the parts department at Markham Outdoor Power and they said it sounds like I am missing those hoses, but I should be able to find the nipple on the underside of the tank that the hose