old motorcycle insurance help

Thread: old motorcycle insurance help

old motorcycle insurance help

I did a search on the site for classic/vintage/older motorcycle insurance rates, it looks like most of the posts have said that Jevco or SF seems to be the only ones that insure older bikes.

I'm looking for insurance on a late 60s ('68 or 70s cruiser.

Basically I just wanted to confirm what I've read and wanted to ask if there are any brokers or someone at Jevco or whereever that any of you have dealt with and would recommend?

"We are motorcycle people; we walk tall and we laugh at whatever's funny." -Hunter S. Thompson

Re: old motorcycle insurance help

Is it going to be a show bike or a regular rider?
    I'm an Actuarial Analyst for a Major Canadian Insurance Company. I analyse claims patterns to determine overall rate changes, as well as relative premium differences by various risk characteristics (eg. age, experience, claims, convictions, usage, etc.)

Unless it's private, please post insurance-related questions in the forum rather than sending me a PM.

Current: 2001 Suzuki GSXR1000 (4th Season)
    Previous: 1996 Honda VFR750F (4 Seasons)
    Previous: 1998 Kawasaki Ninja EX250 (3 Seasons)

Quote Originally Posted by VifferFun View Post
    Is it going to be a show bike or a regular rider?
    mostly weekend... maybe some weekdays (1 or 2)

"We are motorcycle people; we walk tall and we laugh at whatever's funny." -Hunter S. Thompson

Quote Originally Posted by pei View Post
    mostly weekend... maybe some weekdays (1 or 2)
    It doesn't sound like it would qualify for an antique policy then. You could ask your broker/agent about antique policies and their restrictions though.
    I'm an Actuarial Analyst for a Major Canadian Insurance Company. I analyse claims patterns to determine overall rate changes, as well as relative premium differences by various risk characteristics (eg. age, experience, claims, convictions, usage, etc.)