Complete newbie needs hand held with first bike >.<

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Complete newbie needs hand held with first bike >.<

Complete newbie needs hand held with first bike >.<

Okay, so recently having been stripped of my car for family reasons and not because my driving was poor, I am now looking into becoming a Rider.

So here's my scenario:
    - Had my G2 for the last 13 months.
    - Have not yet attained my M1 but plan to as soon as possible. Am in the middle of looking for my lost MTO Motorcycle Handbook.
    - Do not have a bike, nor do I know exactly what bike I want. I would prefer to get a Vespa, but whatever I can get that's good for a beginner rider, cost-effective, functional, and relatively appealing to me aesthetically will do. I will try my best to keep an open mind with the appearance because of my other requirements. It will absolutely need to be something with a capacity of ~330lbs, as I plan to make grocery shopping trips. Price is my biggest concern other than that.
    - worried about insurance; I have heard that State Farm will not insure any M licensee without five years with a G license. I have heard with some limited-speed vehicles insurance is not needed but I have nothing to confirm this by.

So I'm now wondering what my options are - when I get my M1 license, what are my options regarding a vehicle that I can get insurance for, if I need it? I'm not sure if I'm going for a full-fledged motorcycle, a scooter/moped or if I need to look at one of those 30 kmh excuses for a scooter, or if it's best to buy new or used, etc...

Am totally at a loss, and my research hasn't helped much.

Please help. >.<

Re: Complete newbie needs hand held with first bike >.<

Quote Originally Posted by Ichida View Post
    Okay, so recently having been stripped of my car for family reasons and not because my driving was poor, I am now looking into becoming a Rider.

So here's my scenario:
    - Had my G2 for the last 13 months.