coming to a complete stop = stall

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: coming to a complete stop = stall

coming to a complete stop = stall

beginner here again with another question.

When I come to a complete stop at a stop sign I stalled couple times. I Am just wondering what I did wrong ?

also a big question I need to know is , lets say I am on 4th gear and I need to QUICKLY slow down , light turns red or someone pulls the brakes infront of me , will I have the time to pull in throttle shift to 3......2....1...N? what if I shifted straight from 4th to 1st? I will probably mess up the bike and fly off ?

Do they teach all this in the riding course?

Last question whats the best gear to just cruise on ?? .. lets say 60km-70km .
    Last edited by Darknightz; 08-06-2010 at 02:37 PM.
    lone wolf

Re: coming to a complete stop = stall

They teach it other than probably not getting to 4th gear, and seldom 3rd. Avoidance as well, if stopping is not possible or feasible.

At the very least it's two days of using the clutch so much that you'll probably not stall again (except for the odd brain fart).

most likely the clutch too quickly. let it out slowly, when the bike starts to move add a small amount of throttle and let the rest of it out. smoothly.

shifting down - it's not a true downshift at that point, just banging down through the gears. sequential gearbox. a downshift is when you let the cluthc back out in the lower gear and use the engine to slow you down also.

yes they teach this in all courses, some parking lots won't be big enough to justify 4 th gear

depends on your bike's gearing. what bike? I'd suspest 3rd is a good gear to cruise in for most bikes. Maybe 2nd if your gearing is tall enough

Quote Originally Posted by Darknightz View Post

When I come to a complete stop at a stop sign I stalled couple times. I Am just wondering what I did wrong ?