Just need some advice.

Thread: Just need some advice.

Just need some advice.

I just started riding a few months ago, and I'd like to start doing some more touring. I've already started looking at what I'd like for my next bike, and I've jumped from about 3 different ones. The V-Strom 650, VFR 800, and *an R6 for about a week there after I found the 507* I'm currently riding a 2009 FZ6R and its a great little bike, ton's of fun, but I'd like something with a little more power for riding 2-up and carrying gear.
    So I hear there's a 2000 VFR 800 with 5k and in mint condition coming into a local bike place, and the owner said he'd give me a call as soon as it comes in before its listed as for sale. If the bike is sound should I look at the possibility of upgrading? I've had a couple people say I should ride for a year or so, so I can decide what I'd like to do. But if its a great deal should I go for it?

Just looking for some friendly advice.

~Brewer

Re: Just need some advice.

a 2000 vfr isn't going to be much of a step from the FZ you currently ride.. and its a 10 year old bike now. The service costs on the VFR will also be steeper than the FZ. The VFR might be a small step towards a better touring bike if it comes with all the touring goodies such as luggage etc, otherwise you can get all the luggage you need for the FZR and it will make just as good a touring machine.

I recently rode a friends 2001 VFR and it was very nice, though a lot stiffer than my current ride, and more weight on the wrists. I think most vfr owners who use them for touring end up sinking a few $$ into tweaking the comfort.

08 MOTO GUZZI 1200 Sport
    07 SV1000ST 36,000kms **SOLD**