Wheelie questions?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wheelie questions?

Wheelie questions?

I'm a self confessed stunting newbie. I currently have NO intentions of really getting into the stunting scene. and NO intentions of buying anything stunt related for my current bike. once I start making some money, Id consider buying a new bike better suited to stunting, but for now... I just want to have fun with what I already own.

I have a 2000 GSXR 600, with a 97 750cc engine in it. The previous owner changed the rear sprocket +2.

I've been riding for 2 seasons, and have never had the front wheel off the ground. I think I would consider trying a power wheelie or two, but don't really know where to start. Here are some things running through my head:

a) is an occasional wheelie really that difficult, or dangerous? (they won't be anything near 12o'clock wheelies)
    b) is it possible with carbs? or do you require FI?
    c) does it put horrible wear on the fork seals?
    d) is it excessively hard on any other parts of the bike?
    e) Is it better to wait until I have a FI bike with stunting parts, or do I have an adequate setup?
    f) If I give 'er a whirl, and see what happens, am I likely to hurt myself?

Too Much Rock For One Hand

Re: Wheelie questions?

Quote Originally Posted by Ginner View Post
    b) is it possible with carbs? or do you require FI?
    Was this a serious question?

My 50 cc, 7 hp ysr (which is CARBED!!!) can wheelie. I dont think lack of fuel injection is going to be a limiting factor.

I don't know anything about stunting. or carbs for that matter.

but I thought I heard somewhere that something in the carbs is gravity fed, and taking them off level can, stop or slow the fuel flow, and eventually stall the engine...

I guess that's not true then. =D

You have more than enough motorcycle to wheelie.

The first thing that the guy who first put an engine in a bicycle frame did was drop his new bike. When he got back on, he did a wheelie.